This website uses technical and assimilated cookies as well as user-profiling third party cookies in a grouped format to simplify online navigation and to protect the use of services. To find out more or to refuse consent to the use of one or any of the cookies, click here. Closing this banner, browsing this page or clicking on anything will be taken as consent to the use of cookies.

Hong Kong 香港

Order of Malta

The Eight Beatitudes

The spiritual foundation of the Order lies in the eight Beatitudes, symbolised by the eight points of its Maltese Cross, these Christian principles were blessed by Christ in the Sermon on the Mount (Matthew 5:3-10).
- Blessed are the poor in spirit for theirs is the kingdom of Heaven.
- Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.
- Blessed are the gentle, for they shall inherit the earth.
- Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for what is right, for they shall be satisfied.
- Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.
- Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.
- Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called children of God.
- Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of Heaven.
- Blessed are you when men revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you, falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad for your reward is great in heaven.

Blessed Gerard, Knight Hospitaller
Order of St. John of Jerusalem
The Order of Malta

Order of Malta

Hong Kong